Gracefully Gray…by Linda Carlblom

IMG_1063 copy_edited-1 copy

Linda on a particularly good hair day.

I’m one of those women who has never liked messing with my hair much. I keep it short so I don’t have to curl, straighten, or style it. I like the wash and wear (though I do blow-dry) simplicity of short hair.

Years ago, like maybe fifteen to twenty, I thought it might be fun to put some blonde highlights in my hair. Not blonde, blonde. But something lighter than my usual dark, dark. I’d read somewhere that as you age, you should go with a lighter color to keep you looking younger. So after petting all the hair samples at the drugstore, I found the shade I wanted and brought it home. This would be fun!

Long story short, I did it. Then I shyly looked in the mirror when I was done to see the result. Red. My hair was not highlighted with streams of sunshine, but red streaks. I’ll let you draw your own comparisons. Maybe I didn’t get a light enough shade, I thought. But the next time I tried it with a shade that was shockingly light on the box, I had the same result.

I consulted a hair stylist who told me apparently I have natural red highlights in my hair that just want to stay that way. Hmph. Of course, if I wanted to come into the shop and pay an ungodly amount, she could make them come out the way I wanted. I didn’t want them that bad. Remember, I’m a wash and wear kind of gal, who doesn’t like messing with my hair much.

Over the years, I’ve gotten my wish. I have the lighter highlights I spent money for at the drugstore. Only these are natural and more silvery than any of the boxes I saw on the shelf. I’ve let my hair go gray of its own freewill and, by golly, I love it! No covering roots. No hoping I got the right shade of dye. My gray glistens in the sun and doesn’t even show when it falls from my head onto the shower floor. It’s fabulous!

I have a way to go before I’m totally gray. I’m still in the salt and pepper highlights stage. But like food, isn’t life better with a little seasoning? I plan to enjoy every minute of growing Gracefully Gray.

Anyone else out there going with their natural, organic (I’ve heard those are big buzzwords these days) hair color? Let me hear from you in the comments!

Linda 

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Health and Beauty, Humor, Life, Life Transitions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gracefully Gray…by Linda Carlblom

  1. Carol Boley says:

    And you look mahvelous, darling!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    yes, mahvelous! Me? I’m covering up for awhile longer 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Linda Carlblom says:

    Why thank you, my dear Carol! As do you!

    Like

  4. Sue (Vancil) Wolford says:

    Linda, I’m going ‘natural’ too! Mine is going to be white, I think, based upon the highlights I see in the mirror. Oh well…my hubby, Mark, doesn’t mind & I don’t either. 😉 We’ve 5 grandkids so I guess that qualifies us to get white/salt & pepper/gray hair. Also, isn’t there a Proverb verse about gray hair & that it’s a blessing??!!!

    Like

    • Linda Carlblom says:

      Sue, you’re absolutely right! Prov. 16:31 says, “Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained in the way of righteousness.” (NIV) So that’s what we can call our gray hair–our crowns of splendor! Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

  5. Kristen says:

    I have a few grey hairs here and there. I feel I’ve earned them! And if I spend any time at all in the sun, even just a few minutes a day, I get a WHITE streak just in front by my widow’s peak. I maintain hope that it means I’ll get a Morticia Addams streak when I do get more grey.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    Linda, whenever people comment on my hair, I tell them I have SILVER HIGHLIGHTS and that I earned every one of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Linda Carlblom says:

    That’s a good comeback, Andrea! Some people pay good money for those! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kim says:

    In the right light, the salt is VERY noticeable on my head, Linda. I’m a wash & wear gal, too as you know. We should compare highlights 😉

    Like

    • Linda Carlblom says:

      Kim, no doubt that sun on your salt gives you an irresistible radiance! Or is it that big, hearty laugh and smile? Either way, we’re overdue to compare highlights! Love ya!

      Like

  9. Linda, wonderful thoughts. I agree since I have the organic look of the grandma generation: wash and wear in white! Our youngest grandson once mussed up my hair and said, “Gammy, you are a cat. You have dark hair in the back and white in the front.” Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Linda Carlblom says:

    Thank you, Betty! Your beautiful white hair gives you a certain angelic look. Cat angel? LOL. What a cute story about your grandson. Thanks for commenting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

