Thankful for an Ever-Present God

Monday morning I was working at my volunteer job and got a call from my twenty-year-old daughter. She never calls me at work. Texts? Yes. But never calls. So I answered immediately.

“I rear-ended a lady on the freeway. It was just a fender-bender.”

chicago-car-accident-lawyer1

I remained calm outwardly, but felt instantly  shaken within. I wanted to rush to her to make sure she was all right, to see for myself she wasn’t hurt, and help her with the process of reporting an accident. I could hardly concentrate on my work.

But then I remembered the simple truth I grew up hearing and believing. God is always with you. He was with my daughter even though I couldn’t be. He would see her through this scary experience and help her in ways I couldn’t.

My shoulders relaxed. I was thankful instead of worried. It’s nearly impossible to be both at the same time.

I was thankful my daughter was OK. I was thankful to see her carefree self walk through the door that evening. To listen to her long-winded chatter about her day, her accident, her life. I wanted to hear every word, see her giving the dogs belly rubs, watch her make a snack in the kitchen.

God’s presence is enough for every situation, both good and bad. I don’t have to worry when I know everything is held in His great, big, loving hands. Even when the news is devastating, the report bad, the answers unknown, God walks beside me and those I love, giving us peace and strength to face whatever lies ahead.

He’s there for you, too.

God is our refuge and strength,
    an ever-present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1 (NIV)

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thankful for an Ever-Present God

  1. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad she was okay, and that God used it to remind you – and her – that He is always with us!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Davina Lyons says:

    Beautiful truth – thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

