If I Had My Life to Live Over

Today is the twentieth anniversary of Erma Bombeck’s death. Originally posted on ARHtistic License.

ARHtistic License

I just read a poem by the beloved Erma Bombeck (February 21, 1927 – April 22, 1996) and discovered that today is her birthday. So, in her memory, here is the poem:

If I Had My Life to Live Over
by Erma Bombeck

I would have talked less and listened more.
I would have invited friends over to dinner
even if the carpet was stained and the sofa faded.
I would have eaten the popcorn in the ‘good’ living room
and worried much less about the dirt
when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace.

I would have taken the time
to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth.
I would never have insisted the car windows
be rolled up on a summer day
because my hair had just been teased and sprayed.

I would have burned the pink candle
sculpted like a rose before it melted…

View original post 180 more words

About Andrea R Huelsenbeck

Andrea R Huelsenbeck is a wife, a mother of five and a former elementary general music teacher. A freelance writer in the 1990s, her nonfiction articles and book reviews appeared in Raising Arizona Kids, Christian Library Journal, and other publications. She is currently working on a young adult mystical fantasy novel and a mystery.
This entry was posted in Doing Life Together, Life, Regrets, Remembering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If I Had My Life to Live Over

  1. Thanks for posting Erma’s poem. Thanks to her newspaper column in the 1970s and beyond I was able to laugh my way through motherhood and homemaking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

