Texas Turkey Casserole: Left-over Turkey Baked with Tortillias by Betty Mason Arthurs

Stacy Spensley on Wikimedia

Texas Turkey Casserole by Betty Mason Arthurs

Do you need to use up left-over Thanksgiving turkey? Here’s a recipe with a Southwestern flavor using corn tortillas, one of our family’s favorites.

Texas Turkey Casserole  (Can be baked in oven or microwave)

For 6 servings you will need:
1 Tbsp. oil
½ cup chopped onion
1 small can diced, green chilies
1 medium tomato
1 small clove garlic, minced or garlic powder
2 Tbsp. butter or margarine
1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp. cornstarch
¼ tsp. each salt and pepper
½ tsp. chili powder
1 cup chicken broth
½ cup milk
8 corn tortillas
2 cups cooked turkey, chopped (can use more)
6 oz. shredded Jack or Cheddar cheese

Preparation:

1.       Heat oil in skillet. Sauté onion, chilies, tomato and garlic over low heat,
stir until onions are softened.
2.   In small sauce pan, melt the butter. Stir in flour. Cook for a minute.
Stir in salt, pepper and chili powder.
3.       Slowly add the broth. Stir over medium heat until thickened. Add milk.
Heat thoroughly.
4.      Lightly butter an 8-inch baking dish. Lay 4 tortillas in dish.
Evenly distribute 1 cup turkey over the tortillas.
5.      Spoon ½ cup sauce over turkey. Sprinkle with half of cheese and
half of vegetable mixture. Add ½ cup sauce. Repeat with remaining
tortillas, turkey, sauce and vegetables, topping with cheese.
6.      Bake at 350 F for 20 to 25 minutes until heated through.
(Microwave at high power for 8 minutes.)

 

 

 

About Betty Mason Arthurs

I have been the CEO of my family for years...translation: I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, owned by two cats, and often drive my husband crazy. I have belonged to Tuesday's Children for over 20 years and without them my writing skill would have been left in rejection piles all across America. I am a non-fiction author who has leaped into novel writing and having fun in my memories of nursing school in the 1960s. We'll see if I can do an e-book with the adventures of my first novel. I am a Christian who isn't perfect but loves the Lord Jesus and I never take much that happens too seriously due to my weird sense of humor. And I'll talk about my seven grandchildren nonstop if you want me to. Blessings on all of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

