A Hundred Reasons to Cry or Smile by Betty Mason Arthurs

 

I love to stare at this photo of my grandson, Preston, and the family dog, Ella, who sleeps with him each night. Like most dogs, she’s a goofy friend whose energetic play brings smiles and laughter to all of us. Who can be sad around golden-doodle Ella?

However, there are times when life’s problems become overwhelming. I don’t know about you, but I often cry when someone loses a precious child. It brings back the grief of when my husband and I lost two of our baby sons. When I listen to the news where another disaster has claimed the lives of hundreds of innocent people from an earth quake in a poverty stricken country; I feel so helpless but I can pray. There are a hundred reasons to cry.

Thanks to the scripture found in James 5:11, we know that God is full of compassion and mercy. I always  remember that tears are a language He understands. He also asks us to “Clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” Colossians 3:12 (NIV). Facebook posts this week, from family members I haven’t seen in years, ask prayer for a cousin who almost died and needed heart bypasses. Thanks to the posting, it shares instant information so I can send a note of concern and tell them I will pray. That’s the beauty of  social media. In a few days my cousin was on the road to recovery.

Yes, there are a multitude of reasons for each of us to cry, but a bookmark from New Beginnings Greeting Card Collection put it this way:

When life gives you a hundred reasons to cry, show life that you have a thousand reasons to smile. (Author unknown)

And I would add, thousands of prayers to pray…and thousands of laughs with a dog like Ella.

Do you pray when you read of a need on social media? Have you felt comforted when Facebook friends tell you that they’re praying for you?

Do you have a pet? How do they add smiles to your life every day?

 

About Betty Mason Arthurs

I have been the CEO of my family for years...translation: I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, owned by two cats, and often drive my husband crazy. I have belonged to Tuesday's Children for over 20 years and without them my writing skill would have been left in rejection piles all across America. I am a non-fiction author who has leaped into novel writing and having fun in my memories of nursing school in the 1960s. We'll see if I can do an e-book with the adventures of my first novel. I am a Christian who isn't perfect but loves the Lord Jesus and I never take much that happens too seriously due to my weird sense of humor. And I'll talk about my seven grandchildren nonstop if you want me to. Blessings on all of you.
This entry was posted in dogs, Doing Life Together, Faith, Hope, Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Hundred Reasons to Cry or Smile by Betty Mason Arthurs

  1. Judy Robertson says:

    Such a touching blog, Betty. Thanks for very upbeat and encouraging words. Well done.

    Like

  2. My heart always aches for those who have lost a child. A mother will never forget a child she carried for nine months. There is a life scar there that draws you to others with something similar. Our first son died at birth With God’s help, we lived on. I often wondered if that experience was something God sent so that I could empathize when it happened to a dear niece. We have since smiled a million smiles.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    You have a gift with words. Thanks for sharing.I love my niece and family.👍👍👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

