My Country ‘Tis of Thee…Memorial Day Tribute by Betty Mason Arthurs

My Country, ‘Tis of Thee…Memorial Day Tribute

The song, “My Country, ‘Tis of  Thee,” was written by Rev. Samuel Francis Smith in the 1800s when he was 24 years-old. This Memorial Day, May 2017, its beautiful words ring out over America even after so many years and I want to share them with you. I pray we never forget those who died for our country to preserve its freedom and our men and women who serve in our military at home and around the world. Join with me and sing these words.

  1.      My country ‘tis of thee,

Sweet land of liberty,

Of thee I sing;

Land where my fathers died,

Land of the pilgrims’ pride,

From every mountainside,

Let freedom ring!

 

2.         My native country thee,

Land of the noble, free;

Thy name I love;

I love thy rocks and rills,

Thy woods and templed hills;

My heart with rapture thrills,

Like that above.

 

3.         Let music swell the breeze,

And ring from all the trees

Sweet freedom’s song;

Let mortal tongues awake;

Let all that breath partake;

Let rocks their silence break,

The sound prolong.

 

4.          Our fathers’ God, to thee,

Author of liberty,

To thee we sing.

Long may our land be bright

With freedom’s holy light;

Protect us by thy might,

Great God, our King. Amen.      By Samuel F. Smith, 1808-1895

 

 

About Betty Mason Arthurs

I have been the CEO of my family for years...translation: I'm a wife, mother, grandmother, owned by two cats, and often drive my husband crazy. I have belonged to Tuesday's Children for over 20 years and without them my writing skill would have been left in rejection piles all across America. I am a non-fiction author who has leaped into novel writing and having fun in my memories of nursing school in the 1960s. We'll see if I can do an e-book with the adventures of my first novel. I am a Christian who isn't perfect but loves the Lord Jesus and I never take much that happens too seriously due to my weird sense of humor. And I'll talk about my seven grandchildren nonstop if you want me to. Blessings on all of you.
This entry was posted in America, Faith, God, History, Legacy, Military, Music, Remembering, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Country ‘Tis of Thee…Memorial Day Tribute by Betty Mason Arthurs

  1. Lovely post for the day! Thank you for those words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Peggy Levesque says:

    thanks for this fitting reminder, Betty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

